Icons and Views

Started by Mak, February 08, 2014, 02:29:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mak

I was reading through the forums and came across this from Bounder.

'As we now fly UP3 all the time, we have the ability to use the settings available to us in the mission file to see everything that is going on when dead or on the ground....as you say more or less essential when taxiing sometimes: you can also watch other chaps fighting or landing when on the ground. In addition we can have settings that enable us to see targets and also other aircraft on the minimap without identifying colour.'

I am new to DF mission building and would like to ask if I need to do something clever in the .mis file, or is the above taken care of by the estimable Fritz?

I think there's a rat in my Daimler, Mak

CFC_Conky

Hi Mak,

Add the following lines to the bottom of your mission's  .mis file

[Mods]
  ExternalViewLevel 2
  ExternalViewGround 1
  ExternalViewDead 1

Pip, pip,
Conky
Going to church doesn't make you a Christian any more than standing in a garage makes you a car.

Mak

Thanks Conky, I didn't know about that. I have another question you might be able to help me with. I have read somewhere that its possible to ajust the icons seen on a plane. Colour, Type. Name. Etc. plus at what distance it comes into view. Do you know if that is true?

CFC_Conky

Quote from: Mak on February 08, 2014, 09:48:32 PM
Thanks Conky, I didn't know about that. I have another question you might be able to help me with. I have read somewhere that its possible to ajust the icons seen on a plane. Colour, Type. Name. Etc. plus at what distance it comes into view. Do you know if that is true?

Hi Mak,

I think there is a line in the config.ini file that allows you to adjust the view range of icons but since we don't use them in our prangs it's not something I've looked into yet.

Pip, pip,
Conky
Going to church doesn't make you a Christian any more than standing in a garage makes you a car.

Mak